Maritime Leaders Get Nod to Receive AOTOS Awards


August 2018


Back to Issue

The United Seamen’s Service (USS) 2018 Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards (AOTOS) will be presented to Paul Doell, national president of the Seafarers-affiliated American Maritime Officers (AMO); Salvador Bruno, president and CEO of Hapag- Lloyd USA; and Raymond F. Fitzgerald, chairman of the ARC Group, one of the leading U.S.-flag transportation and logistics enterprises.


The prestigious awards will be distributed at the 49th annual gala in New York City on November 2, 2018. Also during this event, American mariners will receive recognition for their specific acts of bravery and heroism while at sea during the past year.


In announcing the primary recipients, Lt. Gen. Kenneth Wykle, (U.S. Army, Ret.), AOTOS committee chairman, said, “The U. S. maritime industry is fortunate to have such outstanding leaders who continue to make significant contributions to the U.S.-flag fleet and are deserving of the AOTOS Award. Tony Bruno has devoted his entire career to operating American liner services. Paul Doell has made a lifelong commitment to maritime labor. Ray Fitzgerald has 35 years in ship management and focuses on innovation in our industry. USS is proud to recognize their collective accomplishments.”


Proceeds from the AOTOS event benefit USS community services abroad for the U.S. Merchant Marine, seafarers of all nations, and U.S. government and military personnel overseas.

Share |